I knpw the Grand Rapids’ Community Media Center is busy working on the framework for this summer’s launch of at least 4 Neighborhood News Bureaus.

The Knight Digital Media Center is holding a series of online seminars for community journalists.  Their latest homework assignment intrigued me:

“This week, your assignment is to identify four online networks that serve the town you live in. These may be blogs, themed sites, community resources or even online services that don’t have a Web presence, such as e-mail lists.”

So I wanted to do that exercise for West Michigan.  I know of at least 4 good ones:

Rapid Growth Media

GR Now

Urban Planet’s Grand Rapids Coffee House

The West Michigan High School Hockey Blog

I do not want to count community newspapers or commercial TV stations.  But help me here – what other great community sites am I missing?

