We had the discussion in our newsroom this afternoon, and I wanted to talk about it tonight and perhaps, hear some other thoughts.

The Swine Flu, now to be known hereafter as the N1H1 flu, is spreading around the world and has sadly killed dozens in Mexico and at least one child in the U.S.  It has been the lead story on most local – and national – newscasts since the weekend.  It is the top story on my station’s website, wzzm13.com, for the past 3 days.  And it was the first question asked of President Obama at tonight’s news conference.

But, it has only killed one American and just around 100 people in the U.S. have it.  Just one Michigan resident has a confirmed case (although we are waiting for test results from Ottawa and now Kent Counties.)  So, here’s my question:  Is it the big story, or are we in the media making more of this than we should?

I asked my wife Mary this question.  She says everywhere she goes,  people are talking about – some concerned, some mocking all the coverage they are seeing.  I will give you my personal thought: I think it is a big story.  It is not a topic we should scare people with, but instead inform our customers so they know what is happening around them.

