I have been a Cub fan for as long as I can remember… my Dad told me we went to our first Cub game back in ’69 (when I was 3!)

We lived 2 blocks north of Addison Avenue, so going to Wrigley was as easy as a quick walk to the bus stop and, about 20 minutes later, there we were, the corner of Clark and Addison.

When my brother and I were kids, my mom would take us to Ladies’ Day on Wednesdays, $1.50 each.  We’d get there 3 hours early and crowd the front row about the Cubs’ dugout, working to get every autograph we could and the occasional foul ball.  We’d sit under the bleachers behind 3rd base and watch Bruce Sutter save the games he could.

It didn’t matter the Cubs weren’t very good back then, but Kingman, Matlock, Sandberg and company gave me a lot of good memories throughout my childhood.

Fast forward to 2003.  I’m working in south Florida now and the Cubs are taking on the Marlins in the playoffs (no, I’m not talking about Bartman!)  My old sports anchor back then was the ex-Dolphin Joe Rose.  He was going to Wrigley to cover the game.  I told him just how special Wrigley was and his first response was basically ‘yeah, right – it’s just another ballpark!’  When he got to Wrigley, he called me that night.  He said I was right and what a magical place it was – and is.

So, as I watch the rain dampen Opening Day, it will never dampen the spirit of Cubs fans in West Michigan and across the country.  After all, this could be the year!

