I am one statistic in a new report from Pew.  It shows the number of adults who have set up social networking profiles has skyrocketed almost 30% percentage points in a little more than 3 years.  That part does not surprise me.

Here’s what did – 50% of the adults surveyed have a MySpace page, but just 22% did.  I know MySpace is more for adults and Facebook is where my teenage daughters live, so maybe it shouldn’t surprise me.  Still, it did.  And it makes me question our current social networking strategy.

Our website often will display a banner asking our customers to join our Facebook group.  We have well over 1,000 friends and growing.  We’re also starting to see all that work pay off in terms of new traffic back to our site.  It’s not a lot, but it’s a start.

We also just started a group on LinkedIn, which is my I do the most social networking.  But it’s only used by 6% of adults, the average user being a college-educated white man in his 40’s.  Who knew!

But we do not have anything going on MySpace.  This report leads me to think we should at least have the conversation.  If anyone knows of a TV station who is using MySpace well, let me know.

