We’re having some staff meetings in our Newsroom/Information Center over the next 2 days.  We’ve made a lot of changes over the past few years but I fear we, both as a station and an industry, are not moving fast enough.

I agree with what Scott Safran and Terry Heaton from AR&D. Jeff Jarvis and others have been saying: we need to approach the web from the perspective of the web itself, not from our traditional TV background.  My company, Gannett, is doing this: we have a digital division and have created a national Moms network of microsites.  But it seems the world is changing so quickly we need a new Moms-type site every few months!

I hope my staff has two big takeaways from our meetings:

– We all need to learn new digital skills; learn Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Delicious, something!  Do it because, as a journalist, you should have a natual curiousity.

– Realize that if we continue to listen to our customers and produce content they find interesting and relevant to their lives,  I believe we stand the best chance of not only surviving this media revolution, but one day thriving.

